Growing Up Gifted

I love this post so much! It just goes to show that while gifted children are often thought of as, well, super humans, we aren’t. We deal with a ton of problems and sometimes it can all feel too much. But this also shows that we don’t have time for that. Don’t be ashamed of being smart and imperfect; because aren’t we all?

Purveyor of Inconsistencies

I am gifted. I have never been exactly fond of the term, but it’s what I am. I was identified early. Sometime between my second and third birthdays, I taught myself to read. According to my parents – who surely would have been called gifted too, had giftedness been more topical in their schooldays – this is when they knew they would have their hands full.

There was a ‘Gifted and Talented’ program at my school. Students were meant to be nominated and assessed in Year 3, but I joined it in Year 2. Three times a week I’d slip out the back of class and join the older Smart Kids for Enrichment classes. I remember learning Braille, studying Renaissance art and dissecting an eyeball. I remember my mainstream classes being very dull. I inevitably finished my work early, so I kept books on my desk so I’d have something…

View original post 592 more words

Leave a Reply

